Nominations are required for the following six positions on the Canadian Psychological Association (CPA) Board of Directors:

  • President-Elect
  • Practitioner
  • Director representing Section on Students
  • Director representing the Council of Professional Associations of Psychologists (CPAP)
  • Director representing the Canadian Council of Professional Psychology Programs (CCPPP)
  • Director representing the Canadian Society for Brain, Behaviour and Cognitive Science (CSBBCS)

Note: All board terms are for three years (beginning in June).

As specified in By-Law 5.04, directors shall be elected by the members by ordinary resolution at an annual meeting of members at which an election of directors is required.

Instructions for Nominations

As per By-Law 5.06, any CPA member can submit a nomination for election to the Board of Directors for the open positions, not less than 30 nor more than 65 days prior to the date of the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of members. A call for an electronic advance vote will be issued before the AGM. Advance voting will occur by electronic vote using the same system as in 2016.

Members and Fellows of the CPA are invited to nominate for the positions listed above. Each nomination must include a curriculum vitae for the candidate, including educational background, present and former positions, and research and/or professional activities. It must be accompanied by a letter from the nominator and four letters of support that state the position for which the candidate is being nominated, express support for the candidate, and contain a statement that the candidate is willing to stand for nomination. The nomination letter and letters of support must come from CPA members or Fellows.

The names and supporting materials of nominees must be received at the CPA’s office by May 10, 2017 and should be sent, preferably by email, to:

Chair, Nominating Committee
Canadian Psychological Association
141, Laurier Ave. West, Suite 702
Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5J3

Current Board Representation

The current balance of the Board and its voting membership is as follows:

President David Dozois, University of Western Ontario, London, ON, Clinical Psychology (term ending in June 2018)
Past-President Kevin Kelloway, Saint Mary's University, Halifax, NS, Industrial/Organizational Psychology (term ending in June 2017)
President-Elect Patrick Baillie, Alberta Health Services, Calgary, AB, Clinical and Forensic Psychology (term ending in June 2019)


Directors with Terms Ending in June 2017

Practitioner Samuel Mikail, Sun Life Assurance, Aurora, ON, Clinical Psychology
Director representing Section on Students Zarina Giannone, University of British Columbia, BC, Counselling Psychology
Director representing CPAP Andrea Piotrowski, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, MB, Clinical Health Psychology
Director representing CCPPP Rupal Bonli, Royal University Hospital, Saskatoon, SK, Clinical Health Psychology
Director representing CSBBCS Jean Saint-Aubin, Université de Moncton, Brain and Cognitive Science


Directors with Terms Ending in June 2019

Scientist Douglas Mewhort, Queen's University, Kingston, ON, Brain and Cognitive Science
Scientist-Practitioner Kimberly Corace, University of Ottawa, Ottawa, ON, Clinical Health Psychology
At-large Fern Stockdale Winder, Saskatoon Health Region, Saskatoon, SK, Clinical Health Psychology
At-large reserved for a Francophone David Bourgeois, Saint Mary's University, Halifax, NS, Social Psychology
At-large reserved for a Masters level member Milena Meneghetti, Calgary, AB, Counselling/Clinical Psychology
Director representing CCDP Valerie Thompson, University of Saskatchewan, SK, Brain and Cognitive Science

Please take this opportunity to speak with colleagues and friends about running for a seat on the CPA Board of Directors. Your association needs you – membership engagement makes for a strong and successful organization!